30 September 2015

Day 16: the Land of Chinggis Khaan

This is somewhat of a retro-post. We have been back in the UK almost a week now, so I thought it was probably time to draw this #honeyschmoon blog to a close.

We'll start with the Chinggis Khaan statue. Yes, the stainless steel statue of Chinggis Khan on horse-back, with his golden whip at one hip and his sword on his other; slap-bang in the middle of nowhere. It looms 50m overhead and (apparently) points east, towards his birthplace. The statue is said to be built where Chinggis found his golden whip - I'm not entirely sure of the significance of this whip, apart from the fact that it's probably SOLID GOLD. Or not.

You can get a lift from the visitor centre into Chinggis' crotch and emerge from it onto the view point, on top of the horses head. It's a good view of... well, vast emptiness. The statue was originally designed as part of a tourist "complex", where it would be surrounded with multiple ger camps; but as far as we could see, there was no on-going construction work.

There was also a rather hilarious power failure whilst we were in the basement, walking round the 2 museums of different artefacts from the 13th Century, which meant we were plunged into darkness and evacuated onto the ground floor in a not-so-orderly fashion. As a result of this, the lift into Chinggis' crotch was also out of action, so we took the stairs. Our driver came with us up the stairs (I'm not entirely sure why..), but by the time we got to Chinggis' crotch, John and I were deeply concerned that our driver might have a respiratory arrest or a stroke. (He didn't, obviously.)

We were carted back to Ulaanbaatar and had a little wander around the city centre, the highlight being (of course) renting a hilarious looking tandem at Chinggis Khaan Square (he's quite a bit deal in Mongolia) for 10 minutes at the cost of 66p. AMAZING!


On our 17th day, we boarded our very first plane at Chinggis Khaan International Airport (as I said, he's quite a big deal) and flew home, via Beijing Airport, where we had the pleasure of experiencing the Premium Lounge (= free food and drink!)

It was only when we were boarding our very first plane that it suddenly dawned on us how far we had travelled, without flying. I mean, we were ruddy in Mongolia..!? The 11-hour flight west was nothing compared to the 11-days of train-ing east. Plus, I got to watch 4 films. Yes, FOUR.

23 September 2015

Day 15: Glamping in Terelj

After we got off the Trans-Siberian, we drove through the mad Ulaanbaatar rush-hour traffic and 80km out of Ulaanbaatar to the Terelj National Park, where we had arranged to stay with a nomadic family in a ger (a Mongolian yurt) for 2 nights.


As if to continue the hilarious we're-sleeping-in-bunk-beds-on-our-#honeyschmoon theme, our ger has 4 single beds. There are no showers and the bathroom (15m walk away) is somewhat of a joke - when we arrived, although there are 2 cubicals, one door was completely off its hinges, there was no toilet seat to be seen; and the presence of water is variable… But at least there is an actual toilet, as opposed to just having not-so-long long drops, which are situated in the hut next to the Western-style toilets.


"Nomadic" breakfast consists of tasty thinly fried oil-bread (similar to yummy "onion-biscuits" we get in Taiwan), jam and a bowl of warm milk (of unknown origin) mixed with semolina, rice or I presume whatever starchy thing is leftover from the previous day. Lunch yesterday was rice with fried stripes of mutton and a suspicious looking mound of coleslaw (which neither of us dared eat). And for dinner, we were served something similar to borsch (Russian beet-soup with onions, cabbage, potatoes and unspecified meat, but usually beef) and plain Mongolian dumplings (yumsk).

There are 2 main tourist sites around where we are staying to keep us entertained - the Turtle Rock and the Aryapala Buddhist Monastery.

Yesterday, we climbed up the hill to visit the buddhist monastery and admired the view of the valley from above. It was a short trip, which perhaps took us no longer than 2 hours. That having been the highlight of the day, we spent the remainder of the afternoon and evening reading, playing solitaire and fiddling with our ger stove. We decided to save the Turtle Rock for today's amusement.

Last night, as we listened to the rain pitter-pattering on our get, John said, "I'm trying to figure out how this is different to camping, well maybe *glamping*, at a low-grade campsite in the UK," I laughed as he continued with, "We might as well be in Wales with that rain and those puddles outside!"

I can't say he's wrong.... Except it's maybe a bit colder?

22 September 2015

Day 14: Crossing Borders

Well, it wasn't definitely fun and games at the Russian-Mongolian border. The provodnista (our female and I think more junior carriage attendant) had the hoover out, going up and down the corridor and into everyone's compartments about an hour before we hit the Russian border. The carriage wasn't filthy or anything (unlike the Chinese 004 train from Moscow that looked like it had never seen a hoover in its lifetime; the Russian 006 train we caught to Ulaanbaatar was *nice*, it actually *felt* like we were in 1st-class compartments), but I presume they wanted to make the carriage look good for the border guards. The provodnik (our male and seemingly more senior carriage attendant) appeared at every compartment door and with a big smile said, "please go to the toilet, as we are approaching the border and the toilets will be locked for at least *four* hours."

He wasn't joking either. We arrived at Naushki (the Russian border station, 5895km from Moscow) around 14.30 Moscow-time (19.30 local-time); we travelled for what could only have been 10-15 minutes further from Naushki and then pulled into Suhbaatar (the Mongolian border station) at around 16.45 Moscow-time (which we think was 22.45 Mongolian-time, but it all got a bit confusing as we seemingly managed to gain another hour somewhere between Slyudyanka, where we boarded the train, and the next stop Ulan-Ude...); only after another 2 gruelling hours of bordem did the train finally start moving towards Ulaanbaatar again, at 18.46 Moscow-time.

We are now, I think, GMT+8. But we could very well be GMT+9 and BST+8 (!?) as I thought we were GMT+8 after we crossed the 4500km mark.. And we have definitely moved forwards another hour since Slyudyanka. So perhaps we are GMT+9, which makes absolutely no sense because I thought Mongolia, China and Taiwan were all in the same time-zone, and I could've sworn Taiwan is GMT+8 and BST+7. Unless Mongolia has summer-time..?

The time confusion brings us to the moment the provodnik knocked on our door at 06.01 saying, "Wake up, wake up! We will be in Ulaanbaatar in 15 minutes!" And my alarm going off as soon as he had left because I'd set it for 06.02 "local-time", thinking we would have an hour and a bit to get ready to get off the train. When we got off the train at Ulaanbaatar 20 minutes later, the station clock read 07.23; as it was meant to read, that being the scheduled time of our train's arrival. 

So maybe Mongolia does have summer-time?

21 September 2015

Day 13: Onwards into Mongolia!

After a few relaxing days with Nataly and Fedor in Utulik, this morning we boarded a Russian train (train 006) for the final leg of our Trans-Siberian train adventure.

What a great find Nataly and Fedor's place in Utulik was; it's an absolute gem and I would heartily recommend it to absolutely anyone who is thinking about visiting Lake Baikal. Their house is made almost entirely of wood and set in the Siberian wilderness on the shores of Lake Baikal. Our room was fully equipped with a en-suite bathroom; in the main house there was also a self-catering kitchen, and a living room with an open fire; and then of course, there was the a Russian banya hut, which I am convinced Fedor built himself (perhaps with a little help from his friends); in fact I wouldn't be surprised if he didn't build the entire house himself! The whole place had so many incricate details that you wouldn't expect of a "standard build" - the leaf-shaped and swirly hinges, the hooks and door handles made from forest branches, the beautifully designed iron fire hearthes, the aluminium cooker-hood (!) - that was definitely a DIY job; we were in awe of Fedor's craftmanship. Over the weekend, him and his companions were making a lovely wrought iron sculpture, just outside the lean-to wooden extension (where him, Nataly and their family live), so perhaps it's his hobby?

Oh, but I must tell you about the bus saga!

On Sunday, we decided to take Nataly's advice and go to the local ski-resort, which operates its chair-lift to its panorama viewing-deck at a dizzy height of 900m as an out-of-season tourist attraction. (It was absolutely stunning, but Lake Baikal just looked like the sea because you can't see the end of it; it's insane.)


To get to the ski-resort, you take the 102 bus from pathetic bus stop just outside Nataly and Fedor's house, maybe 200m down the road, on the opposite side of the road. Despite getting up at a relatively decent time (08.34 local time, 03.34 Moscow-time), we were delayed by a variety of factors:
1) Being locked out of the kitchen. Another couple arrived very late on Saturday night so hadn't read the how-to-lock-the-door-properly-so-people-can-access-it-with-a-key-from-the-outside sign (to be fair, it was in Cyrillic and they got in at 1am local-time). Luckily we made so much noise trying to get the door open, Don came and opened the door for us.
2) We met and got chatting to Don and Amber, also newlyweds on their honeymoon! They got married August Bank Holiday weekend, but were taking much longer and going much farther on their honeymoon; I think their final destination was Malaysia? Or maybe Insonesia? They previously worked in Dubai, but were moving back to the UK, so they were calling this their "travel-moon" and going all out before buying a house, having babies and other general "settling down" stuff.
3) John. John probably hasn't taken a bus in awhile.. It was 09.30 and although we were ready to go, he lay down and was doing his physio, "We've got loads of time! We've got like 10 minutes!"

As a result of the above, we walked out of our room door at around 09.35 (the bus was scheduled for 09.40) and as we got to the main road, we saw the bus pulling into the bus stop, 200m away, on the other side of the road.

Fiddlesticks.

I'm pretty sure I've haven't run that fast for a while, plus having been on a train for the last week, the whole using-your-thigh-muscles concept was a bit alien. Anyway, we caught the bus. That time.

The 2nd bus we wanted to catch was again the 102, but from the ski-resort to Baikalsk (the neighbouring town). This time, we didn't make the same mistake. We were at the bus stop at least 20 minutes in advance (the buses only run once an hour, sometimes even less frequently, as we found out later...) and waited patiently for it, never taking our eyes off the road, so we didn't miss it.

It got to 13.46 (the bus was due at 13.40) and following our first bus experience, we thought it was odd that the bus was late. So we started looking at google maps, to try and figure out how far this town actually was and whether we could just walk it... I glanced up to see the 102 juddering towards us at an almighty speed and stuck out my right hand as quickly as I could... But it zoomed past us with the driver muttering, waving his arms around and shrugging his shoulders; we later learnt from Don and Amber (they were on the bus), that the driver hesitated for a split second, but decided we weren't worth stopping for, "The look on your little faces; it was just so sad!!" HTH.

As if that wasn't enough, then there was bus number 3. The same bus, bus 102, for the return journey from Baikalsk to Utulik. Now because we hadn't got the bus TO Baikalsk, we weren't entirely sure that a) we were in Baikalsk and b) where the bus had dropped people off - the bus stops have no information on them, they are literally a shed with a blue sign that has a picture of a bus on it; no numbers, no nothing. Nataly had drawn us a little schematic diagram of the Baikalsk town centre, showing us where the market was, where the restaurant was and where the bus stops were. Unfortunately, we didn't realise the drawing was of the town centre, we thought it was of the main road... This resulted in us waiting at the wrong bus stop for the 15.30 bus. We waited and waited and waited. No bus came. We also knew that the next bus was scheduled for 17.00, so at 15.57 we called it quits and made the decision to walk the 7km home.


At least we got full use of our legs during our day off the train? And we were able to take photos of some interesting Russian concrete signs; play spot-the-Lada, which in hindsight we weren't really playing properly because we didn't really keep score, the game basically just consisted of us saying, "Lada," "Lada," "Lada," every time we saw a Lada (but not the new Ladas coz they're not cool enough...) It also gave us lots of time to ponder some life questions, "So, why *did* we get married?" "Do you think so-and-so and so-and-so will work things out?" "How many languages are the children going to have to learn!?"

But my favourite topic of ponder was, "What the *hell* are we doing, walking along the side of a main road, in the middle of Siberia, on our bloody honeymoon!?" Followed by hysterical laughter and the usual response of, "I don't know," and then, "Cos we're stoopid."

We cross the Russian border tonight at 20.33 (17.33 Moscow-time) and enter Mongolia at 22.10 or maybe 23.10; the timings are a bit out and nothing really makes much sense... Welcome to Mongolia!?

18 September 2015

Day 10: Siberia

This morning (at 03.47 Moscow-time, which is 07.47 local-time as we are now Moscow+4), I was rudely awoken by an odd sensation; chill. Despite my fluffy fleecy pyjamas bottoms and my wool-blanket-in-a-duvet-cover-thing, I was chilled. I lay around for a little while willing my brain to ignore it, but finally gave in and put a thermal long sleeve top on; by which time, I was too awake to go back to sleep. So I did what any decent wife would do; I climbed into the upper bunk and stuck my ghostly cold feet ("ghosties" we call them) onto John's warm legs! Oh, how he shrieked.

And still I was greeted with the usual, "Good morning, wife."

As we travel deeper into Siberia, the temperature variation between day and night becomes more noticeable; although the midday temperature is not exactly high - maybe 11oC? Or colder when the sun hides behind the vast volume of clouds.

The chill I felt this morning was ground frost. From our carriage, it looked as though just after the dew had settled, the temperature must have plummeted causing the dew to freeze. 


Apart from that, the scenery has remained mostly unchanged. More of the same taiga (Russian word meaning "thick forest") consisting mainly of aspen, pine and larch. Houses range from beautiful, idyllic wooden-clad constructions with colourfully painted shutters and corrugated iron as their roofs (mainly in little villages and outskirts of towns) to concrete jungles of high-rise apartments in the cities (yes, Siberian cities, they actually exist!)

We are now just over 4000km from Moscow and have another 1000km till we reach Lake Baikal and Slyudyanka. Clickty-clack clickty-clack clickty-clack..

17 September 2015

Day 9: the Trans-Siberian Time Warp

We have been on the Trans-Siberian train for 36 hours and moved through almost 3 (!) different time zones. Every 12 hours or so, we lose an hour. We are currently Moscow+2, but will be Moscow+3 in a matter of minutes.

What makes it worse is that my brain is still on BST, or Paris-time (BST+1) at best. So this morning, for example, I woke up at 08.47 Moscow-time (the time my phone is still set to, because all trains in Russia operate on Moscow-time and not local-time); this made it 10.47 local-time, but in my head, it was 06.47 BST. 

W. T. F.

Then there is the other issue of when to eat. We had breakfast when we got up, around 2 hours ago (09.30ish Moscow-time), but it is now 13.36 local-time (and soon to be 14.36 local-time as we cross over into another time-zone) yet if you go off Moscow-time, it's only 11.36; so, do we eat lunch now or in a few hours when it's lunchtime in Moscow?!

Oh, so much fun!!

Our cabin is very 1960s (?) glam, complete with extremely dated chair-covers. We have a Jack-and-Jill shower, shared with next door (sadly, the toilets are shared with the entire carriage, so one at each end of the carriage); 2 single bunk beds (but wide enough for evening cuddles), the lower bunk doubling as a seating area during the day; a fixed table, equipped with a white cotton tablecloth; and a chair in the corner, enabling civilised (some might even say romantic..) meals of instant-noodles, eaten out of polystyrene containers.

Most of my day is spent cat-napping on the bottom bunk (I swear I must've been a cat in a previous existence) and playing with my mobile dummy (also known as my iPhone with 3G internet connection), whereas John keeps himself enthralled with the book Lu gave him when we were last in Edinburgh, "Age of Ambition" by Evan Osnos. We also have jackanory time, with each of us taking it in turns to read from the Trans-Siberian Handbook which Alex and Amanda bought for us. It is full of bitesize chunks of information and a great route guide towards the back of the book, telling you about the places you pass and how tell where you are, if you happen to take your eye off the ball for a few hours:

On the south-side of the tracks (luckily, the side our cabin window faces) there are "kilometre posts", on each post, the number on the face furthest from Moscow is larger by 1km than that on the face nearest Moscow (excerpt from "Trans-Siberian Handbook" by Bryn Thomas and Anna Cohen Kaminski). The posts display your distance from Moscow, and this is how you refer to the route guide in the book. Having said that, sometimes (the posts are) so close to the train that they are difficult to see. The technique is, (believe it or not) to press your face close to the glass and look along the train until a post flashes by.


Tomorrow is another day on the train, then we disembark at Слюдянка (Slyudyanka) early (or late, depending on what time-zone you choose to function in) Saturday morning. Slyudyanka is at the tip of Lake Baikal, where we are staying in a wood cabin with Fedor and Nataly; a taste of real Siberian-living! (Maybe..)

15 September 2015

Day 7: From Russia, With Love

We arrived into Moscow just after midday yesterday and took the extremely grand Moscow Metro across the centre to this huge apartment, shared by  two arty Frenchies; an architect from Holland; an extremely manipulative black fluffy cat; and our host, a Russian lawyer something or other, who has yet to materialise…

After a few cups of tea, we took a gentle stroll back towards the centre, crossing 2 bridges, and arrived at Red Square, St Basil's Cathedral and of course the Kremlin.

Soon after my 257th photo, we came to the realisation that we were actually completely and utterly pooped. So we headed home, only stopping for some traditional Russian cuisine on the way:


Despite our best efforts to "get an early night", most of the residents got home around 10pm (and we were waiting for our washing to finish spinning), so we got to bed just before midnight. And our well laid plans for exploring some of the Moscow sights today has turned into... Well, I'm still in bed, and it's almost 1pm.

It is our #honeyschmoon though.. Aren't you meant to spend all day in bed and never see the sights?

We board the actual Trans-Siberian train tonight at 23.45! Exciting times..!!

13 September 2015

Day 5: the Paris-Moscow Express

So it turns out this train is *very* Russian. The guards speak literally no English, despite their website advertising them as having undergone "basic English training". Although, to be fair, I speak no Russian.. Or German.. So, fair play.

The other thing that has come to light is that the Russians are actually pretty strict about you sleeping in your booked bunk. No swapping or changing seats. But this is especially true when one of your seats is in the 1st class carriage and one of them is in the 2nd class carriage...!?

Yup. You heard me right.

So we thought, 3 days and 2 nights on a sleeper train, on #honeyschmoon... Why the hell not; let's go 1st class. We booked our tickets through RealRussia, who said at the time that there wasn't a 2-berth 1st class compartment available as it was nearly all booked out; but they could book two 1st class berths, a couple of carriages apart and, "you will be able to change, probably."

What they actually booked was one berth in the 1st class carriage (teapot and teacups included) and a "double" berth in the 2nd class carriage! 

Thanks for the heads up guys.

Captain Hindsight says we should've just booked two "doubles" in the 2nd class carriages. But then we wouldn't have had a teapot to photograph...

Oh well. At least my train guard doesn't have that distinct Russian aroma - Vodka, like John's does.. And at least we'll be in the same compartment for the Moscow-Ulaanbaatar train.... Probably!?

12 September 2015

Day 4: Gard de l'Est

We are sat at Gard de l'Est, waiting for our Paris-Moscow Express train to appear on he departures board. It's been a long wait, given we checked out of Jane's apartment in la Marais at 11.15am...

#honeyschmoon has been quite successful so far.

We left Broadbottom on the 10.15 on Wednesday (09/09/15) and despite the slight delay just before Watford Junction (signalling issues, as per usual), we managed pulled into Euston a little before 14.00 (later than our scheduled 13.08). 


After several attempts at selfies because there was a the ruddy baby-head that kept following us around on the electronic advertisement boards and a wonderful luncheon at Sourced Market in St. Pancras International; we boarded our Eurostar from Platform 7.

We arrived at Gard du Nord at 19.05 and made our way to la Marais where our airbnb apartment was via the Paris Metro - our 5th mode of rail-transportation that day (Northern train BDB-MAN; Virgin train MAN-EUS; London Underground on the Piccadilly line, Russell Square-STP; Eurostar STP-PDN; Paris Metro 5, Gard du Nord-Oberkampf).


Day 2 was a lazy day, a so-called R&R day (recovery and relaxation day). It simply consisted of a very late start, a mid-morning snooze, a gentle stroll to the Piscine Josèphine Baker (the floating swimming pool on the Seine) for 25/40 laps, then a gentle stroll home again, stopping for a spot of dinner at Café de Lyon.

Day 3 was tourist day. We did ALOT of touristy things. Croissants from the local bakery for breakfast; the Tour Eiffel (and a wee bit of acro-yoga right by it); the Champs Élysées; the Arc du Triomphe; charcuterie for lunch; Notre Dame; leisure ride on Parisian Boris-bikes; and crêpes for dinner! Tres French!


And now, we wait. We'll see what the Paris-Moscow train brings... We're actually booked on two separate carriages, because it was nearly all booked up by the time we got round to booking our tickets (like 6+ weeks in advance!) So we are going to have to pull the #honeyschmoon card.... 

Fingers crossed! (Although I suppose it wouldn't kill us to have *some* time apart...)